Secrets of Paris by Luanne Rice

Just having the word Paris in the title of this book grabbed my attention. After reading a short synopsis, I requested it through the Goodreads giveaway program. I love reading novels set in France and Italy so, I felt fortunate to be the recipient of this book – free of charge!

Secrets of Paris is a story of friendship and a troubled marriage. Lydie, one of the main characters, moves to Paris with her husband Michael in a cultural exchange program. Michael is an architect with an assignment to redesign a room at the Louvre. Lydie is a photographer stylist. Both have their work but …c’mon….the city of lights and love is at their disposal for romantic date nights….they should take advantage of it!

Lydie is still in mourning over her father’s death in a murder suicide where Dad kills his lover and offs himself. Naturally this affair comes as a total shock to Lydie and her mother. It just does not help to find out Michael knew of the affair. In his defense, his father-in-law told him about it one day and swore him to secrecy. What a rotten position to be put in. The novel progress with Lydie making friends with Patrice d’Origny ( a woman from Boston who is married to jewelry store owner) and Kelly (a Filipino woman who is Patrice’s maid). These three women bond and become friends as they unite to help Kelly move to the United States .

In the meantime Michael starts up an affair with a French biographer Anne Dumas. Lydie and Michael are absorbed with their own projects and work but still want to rekindle the spark of their marriage.

From what I have heard from fans of Luanne Rice – this wasn’t their favorite novel. Sad for me that it’s the first one I have read by this author. It just didn’t engage me. I didn’t hate it but I didn’t love it. I was able to read it. There was my “French fix” in a literary form but…..I couldn’t warm up to the characters. This would be suggested as a “beach read” in my opinion.

Since I was not engaged with the people and their problems I was not inspired to make much more than a chicken salad on croissant – the French twist being some of the ingredients.

Cheers…uh…….I meant Bon Appetit!

Shredded Chicken
Fleur de Sel De Guerande (French sea salt)
Ground black pepper
A few teaspoons of white wine Dijon mustard
Mayonnaise
Croissants

Great sandwich!!

I am placing this review on Goodreads and LibraryThing.

Happy Reading !

For info on Luanne Rice:

Luanne Rice Site
Fantastic Fiction

Leave a Reply

