Eat Love Pray

“In a world of disorder and disaster and fraud, sometimes only beauty can be trusted.…And sometimes the meal is the only currency that is real.”—Elizabeth Gilbert, Eat, Pray, Love

The Eat and Love part in the title had me very hopeful.

OMG did I ever hate this book. First off, I will state that I love the way Elizabeth Gilbert writes. She has a talent. This lady can string words and paragraphs together as an artist. But do I like the character Elizabeth ? No….not really.

This woman is whiny. It’s no wonder David puts her at arm’s length. Do you know any man who loves a clingy woman? Her ex-husband must have a good story too. While the author does not go into his side of things (and that is fair enough) some of the comments attributed to him are quite telling:

“You are a cheat and traitor,” he tells her as they try and discuss the impending divorce.

For me, her story about talking to god was neither attention grabbing nor dull. I couldn’t relate to it or understand her near hysterical bouts of crying and insecurity.

Liz Gilbert very much needed to be defined by something, to connect to something. If she had never seen the framed photo of David’s spiritual teacher, perhaps Liz may have stumbled upon something else to focus her life. It’s as if she grabbed at the first “deep” or “cool” path she encountered. Ok, here’s an example from part seven in the beginning:

“I walked into David’s apartment and saw this picture on his dresser of a radiantly beautiful Indian woman and I asked, “Who’s that?”

He said, “My spiritual teacher.”

My heart skipped a beat and then flat out tripped over itself and fell on its face. Then my heart stood up…took a deep breath and announced: “I want a spiritual teacher.”

I literally mean my heart itself, and my mind stepped out of my body for a moment, spun around to face my heart in astonishment and silently asked, “You DO?”

“Yes,” replied my heart. “Since WHEN?”

My god, I wanted a spiritual teacher. I immediately began constructing a fantasy of what it would be like to have one.”

End of Quote

Oh. My. Constructing a fantasy of what it would be like…. sounds like a childish dream of fantasizing what it would be like to date a movie star, or own a horse, or whatever you dream might be “cool” to have in your life. But a spiritual journey on a whim? I didn’t get that.

I’m imagining if David had a framed photo of orphans in South America whom he “adopted” through an infomercial, Liz may have flown to Columbia and built them a village and fixed their teeth.

She was fortunate though ( or lucky, or however you’d like to define her financial situation) as not every woman who isn’t satisfied with her life can pick up and travel to other countries to “find themselves”.

In the next section she had her palm read and followed the advice given. Hmmmmm….


Photo Credit

By section 10 she has moved to Italy on the first leg of her journey. She’d quit her job and paid off legal bills, given up her apartment and started her year of travel. Know how she did that? I quote from section 10:

“And I can actually afford to do this because of a staggering personal miracle: in advance, my publisher has purchased the book I shall write about my travels.”

If someone would pay me a “staggering amount” to write about a trip and the foods and my thoughts – I too could afford to make my spiritual journey.

The section on Indonesia was never ending.


Photo Credit

Again, I love the way this author can thread words into an intelligent and lovely story. But the whining. The self-absorbed soul searching and crying. It was a real turnoff for me. People seem to either love this book or hate it. What do I think? Guess.

I was inspired to make something Italian because I love Italian food. And it’s a comfort food for me. I deserved it.

Tortellini Amatriciana

Recipe may be found at my Squirrel Head Manor site.

I am placing this review on the Italy in Reading 2011 site. This completes my fourth book in the challange.

I am placing this review on Goodreads and LibraryThing.

More Info
Elizabeth Gilbert

7 thoughts on “Eat Love Pray

  1. I finally found someone who thinks like I do! I thought I was the only one and that I was nuts. Everyone seems to be in love with this kind of …….. and I refuse to go see the movie.Rita

    Like

  2. I had this on my list of movies through Netflicks but removed it. What a stinker the book was…for me. And now I am seeing other people feel the same!!Thanks for commenting, Rita 🙂

    Like

  3. Exactly, Eat, Pray, Whine! While I plowed through the book to enjoy the armchair travel to three beautiful parts of the world, I really wanted to ditch the author. But having just seen the movie, I will say that the cinematography is great, and I will also love to feast my eyes on Javier Bardem, so despite having a whiny heroine along, it was enjoyable.

    Like

  4. Nice review! You've removed any suspicion that I could have liked this book! There seems to be so many bad 'finding myself by going abroad' books. The tortellini amatriciana looks nice though, I have to say!

    Like

  5. Maggie, I think I will check out one of her other books though…one that is not a memoir. If that's a stinker for me then I am done!Rachel – Oh no, was she whiney in the movie too?! I like armchair travel too.Pete – Thanks so much. Yes, I recommend the tortellini but (clearly) not the book. 🙂

    Like

  6. Pingback: Southern Seas by Manuel Vazquez Montalban (another thumbs down) « Novel Meals

Leave a Reply

