A Thousand Days in Tuscany by Marlena de Blasi

Thank you to Danielle of Cooking for my Peace of Mind for becoming a follower of Novel Meals!

I know I missed out by not reading A Thousand Days in Venice before starting the Tuscany follow-up. It’s not a sequel but I think I missed the blossoming love story in Venice . So, that’s on my list now too. Hmmmmmm…the to-read list gets longer and I fear I won’t live long enough to complete it.

A Thousand Days in Tuscany
Marlena de Blasi has my dream job. Chef, writer, food consultant and traveler………bliss. Evidently she met her soul mate in Venice . The start of a Thousand Days in Tuscany has the couple headed to Tuscany to live in an old farmhouse. It is not in the promised condition but they certainly make do. The new neighbors give them a hearty welcome, getting the entire community to pitch together with housework and feeding them.

Her writing has you imagining all the quaintness of a small village, enjoying the interactions and scenery as she paints it in the book. It was a relaxing read because I wanted to imagine myself in Italy and she sure did a good job with description.

Most of the chapters end with a recipe. You have The Holy Ghost’s Cherries, Deep fried flowers, Vegetables and Herbs, Castagnaccio, Winemaker’s Sausages roasted with Grapes and more…..

I made her Tuscan Flatbread

Recipe may be found at Squirrel Head Manor

I am placing this review on the Italy in Reading 2011 site. This completes my fifth book in the challenge.

I am placing this review on Goodreads and LibraryThing.

Happy Reading!

More Info:
Marlena de Blasi, who has worked as a chef and as a food and wine consultant, lives in Italy , where she plans and conducts gastronomic tours of its various regions. She is the author of four previous memoirs: That Summer in Sicily , A Thousand Days in Venice , A Thousand Days in Tuscany , and The Lady in the Palazzo—as well as three books on the foods of Italy

Adventure in Italy : Journeys of Discovery

2 thoughts on “A Thousand Days in Tuscany by Marlena de Blasi

Leave a Reply

