Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith

Sink your teeth in this one!

Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter

When I saw the movie poster I thought, bet this will be funny (in a strange way) but I will wait until it comes on Netflicks. Then my son alerted me to the book, loaned me his copy and I finally started reading it. I wasn’t holding out great hope that this would be a page turner for me. I was wrong. I have very much enjoyed this book.

I liked the entries into Abe’s journals and the transition from his personal thoughts to his interactions and conversations with living people and vampires. The unlikelihood of Abraham’s alliance with Henry Sturges (Vampire friend and co-conspirator) kept my interest. They had a similar goals but very different perspectives.

The vampires aren’t depicted as sparkly Twilight Saga types, nor are they written in the same vein (no pun intended) as Anne Rice penned. They aren’t sexy vampires as you see/read in Sookie Stackhouse either.

I would recommend this revisionist biography of Lincoln for anyone who can suspend disbelief and consider alternative reasons history played out as it did, especially as it involved the Civil War. And of course, you have to be a fan of fantasy and/or vampire lit. My Dad would have hated this book.

Side note: Since I have lived in the south the latter part of my life I have heard the Civil War called The War of Northern Aggression.

As it is with any book your significant other intends to read, you can’t (shouldn’t) give anything away. He noticed I frowned a bit as I finished the book.

Frankly, I don’t know if I could suggest an alternate ending but I was left wishing for a different closer. Couldn’t give a better suggestion and the closing paragraphs worked. Overall, I enjoyed the book and I am looking forward to the movie now. Can’t wait to see Henry and his interactions with Abe.

Some quotes from the book:

“How could I worship a God who would permit [vampires] to exist? A God that had allowed my mother to fall prey to their evil? Either he was powerless to stop it, or he was complicit in it. In either case, he was undeserving of my praise. In either case, he was my enemy.”

“There are but two types of men who desire war: those who haven’t the slightest intention of fighting it themselves, and those who haven’t the slightest idea what it is.”

There weren’t many passages with food in this book but I was inspired to prepare Anti-Vampire Chicken with 40 Cloves of Garlic. Recipe and more on that at Squirrel Head Manor.


More info:
Seth Grahame-Smith

I am placing this review on Goodreads and Beth Fish Reads.

8 thoughts on “Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith

  1. Ha, ha! I will never meet a vampire because I do love garlic. I’m waiting for the movie to come to Netflix — I think it will fun. Haven’t read the book, but I own it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

