Donna Hay Cookbooks

There is quite a variety of Donna Hay books in print and I am dabbling in several of them. The online cooking site I Heart Cooking Clubs features a different chef/cook every six months. The last vote for a female chef was won by Donna Hay. I must say, I am enjoying cooking with her recipes and so far it’s all been delicious (if I may say so myself).

DonnaCollege

So far, all the cookbooks I have perused display wonderful photos of the food and easy to follow recipes. Let me highlight a few of cookbooks here.

Fast, Fresh Simple offers a great collection of recipes. There is a fresh take on some tried and true recipes and some pretty good short cuts too. If you are in a hurry but don’t want to skimp on fresher ingredients, this is a good resource.

I have made the Garlic Prawn Pasta and Bacon lentil soup so far.

The Instant Cook has beautiful yet simple photos of food. There is quite a bit of Asian and Mediterranean flavors and all recipes are, as the title implies, easy, quick with a minimal list of ingredients.
From this book I have made Lemon Marinated Artichoke salad.

Modern Classics 1 was the first DH cookbook I purchased and I was hooked. I love this one. There are plans to make quite a few recipes from this one. So far I have made:

Baked Fish Filets with Tomatoes
Big Classic Breakfast

and Garlic Chilli Olive Oil Spaghetti.

Simple Essentials is the one for the chicken lover. Oh right, that would be me. There are recipes in this book wheich you will also find I other DH cookbooks so, beware there. If you like chicken as much as I do, you will love this book. Spatchcocked Chicken is my only representative so which I had posted on my food blog (so far) but…this is a nice book!

Recently purchased was Modern Classics 2 which focuses on breads, cookies, cakes and other baked goods. Haven’t tackle that one yet but Madelines are on the short list for this book.

There are quite a few of Donna’s cookbooks I haven’t checked out yet but am looking forward to doing so, The five books I mentioned have been a pleasure to read through and cook from.

Adding my review to Goodreads and Beth Fish Reads for her Weekend Cooking Series.

Weekend Cooking is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post to share: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, quotations, photographs. If your post is even vaguely foodie, feel free to grab the button and link up anytime over the weekend. You do not have to post on the weekend. Please link to your specific post, not your blog’s home page. For more information, see the welcome post.

10 thoughts on “Donna Hay Cookbooks

Leave a Reply

