Sous Chef by Michael Gibney

sous Sous Chef by Michael Gibney is another be behind-the-scenes look at life in the kitchen of a busy restaurant. It’s hectic, stressful, hot and fast paced. The book encompasses 24 hours in the life of a sous chef. It’s a collection of interesting events and moments that occur during a 24 hour time frame, from prep to plating a delicious meal.

Informal story telling in a similar fashion to Bill Buford (Heat) makes this an interesting narrative. When I read Bourdain’s Kitchen Confidential and Buford’s Heat I was certain it takes a special breed to survive the long, hot shifts in the kitchen. Sous Chef confirms it. I like the focus on one position in the kitchen (sous chef) and interactions with the chef, wait staff and more. It’s not helter skelter in the kitchen as one may think when you see scenes of people rushing about with plates, wine glasses, food being dished up by cooks…it’s organized chaos. Except to them, it’s not chaos. Everyone has a job and everyone adheres to their duties. There is structure.

This would not be the life for me but I am happy there are dedicated artists in the kitchen who provide us with memorable meals. It was an easy read, enjoyable. Sending it on to my sister-in-law who is also a foodie lit lover.

A simple but delicious meal is what I have here to represent the book. For no particular reason, just because it was pretty, it tastes great and it was my last time eating pearled couscous. (We have since gone gluten free due to health reasons. If you want to read about our healthy living project click HERE)

Tuck into this roasted chicken with balsamic onion sauce, pearled couscous and pole beans.

One of my favorite book sites is Beth Fish Reads. She did a much better job with the description/review of this book which you may read HERE.

Adding my review to Goodreads and Beth Fish Reads for her Weekend Cooking Series.

Weekend Cooking is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post to share: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, quotations, photographs. If your post is even vaguely foodie, feel free to grab the button and link up anytime over the weekend. You do not have to post on the weekend. Please link to your specific post, not your blog’s home page. For more information, see the welcome post.

Happy reading!!

15 thoughts on “Sous Chef by Michael Gibney

  1. Aww thanks for the compliment. But seriously, after reading what it’s like to be a successful restaurant chef, I lost all dreams of becoming one myself.

    Like

  2. It sounds an interesting book, but I know I’d never keep up in a professional kitchen. I’ve never had much success with pearl couscous, I much prefer the regular kind.

    Like

  3. That sounds like a fun behind-the-scenes book. I’m sure I’m not cut out to work in that sort of environment, but I do enjoy the good meals they produce!

    Like

  4. Another foodie book for my list. I thought the same thing after reading Bourdain’s Kitchen Confidential. These chef-types must be a passionate and dedicated lot!.

    Like

  5. I haven’t read this but it sounds interesting. I love to cook and on my good meal days, my kids insist I should open a restaurant. However, I know how hard it is to feed my family let alone complete strangers. Thanks for the book recommendation.

    Hope you’ll link up with my Small Victories Sunday linky where I recap the books I read and food I’ve cooked. But all bookish/foodie posts are welcome!

    http://momssmallvictories.com/small-victories-sunday-linky-16-one-mice-away-mommy-cleans/

    Like

  6. I’ve been reading reviews of this one and wondering if I should give it a try. I think I’ll hold off and try Bourdain first (I haven’t done that much chef reading, mostly cookbooks & a few memoirs). Your plate looks delicious!

    Like

Leave a Reply

