101 Things to do with Bacon by Eliza Cross

A few weeks ago I won a little cookbook. 101 Things to Do With Bacon by Eliza Cross. The fact that it was so bacon-centric definitely had my attention when I saw it was available on Goodreads. Lucky me, I won the book!

Just flipping through it you think “I want that, oh yes, I want that, I am definitely making that!”

The first dishes I made were Bacon-Wrapped Orange Chicken and No-Stir Risotto with peas and bacon. Super easy, completely mouth wateringly delicious aromas and taste. Husband says, Oh yes, this is certainly going on the rotation!

Would you like the recipe? I tell you, make this in any bacon loving household and you will hear many compliments. The sweetness of the marmalade and the smoky bacon are naturals together.

Bacon-wrapped Orange Chicken

4 boneless skinless chicken breasts (I used thighs with skin and bones intact)
¼ teaspoon dried sage
¼ teaspoon dried thyme
Salt and pepper
4 strips of bacon
¼ cup butter
¼ cup orange marmalade

OK, I adapted this recipe because we just aren’t fans of chicken breast. These probably wouldn’t be dry because of the bacon but I opted for thighs. Because we like thighs. I also omitted the butter because I felt it would be juicy and greased up enough with the skin attached to the thighs.

Preheat oven to 350 F and line shallow dish with foil or use a non-stick spray.
Sprinkle each piece of chicken with sage, thyme, salt and pepper. Wrap each piece of chicken with a slice of bacon and arrange in pan with bacon ends tucked under.

Melt together the butter and marmalade in a saucepan until combined. Pour over the bacon-wrapped chicken and back uncovered for 45 to 50 minutes.

*Note: Since I didn’t use the butter I simply plopped a spoonful of marmalade over the bacon wrapped chicken without heating. I also bumped the heat up to 375 F since I was using the thighs.

Oh. My. This is a scrumptious moist marriage of ingredients made in heaven. We were so hungry even before I started dinner so it was difficult when the wafting aroma of sweet marmalade and bacon filled the kitchen.

No-Stir Risotto with Peas and Bacon

2 TB olive oil
1 TB butter or margarine
1 onion, finely chopped
2 cups Arborio or short grain rice
4 cups chicken stock or broth
1 cup frozen peas
6 strips of bacon, cooked and finely crumbled
½ teaspoon salt
¼ teaspoon pepper
½ cup grated Parmesan cheese

Heat oil and butter over medium heat. Add the onion and saute until lightly browned. This will take about 5 minutes.
Add the rice and cook for 2 minutes, stirring so the rice is coated with the oil and butter.

Add broth and bring to a boil. Stir well, reduce heat and cook covered for 15 or 20 minutes or until rice is tender.

Stir in peas, bacon, salt and pepper, cook for about 3 minutes. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese and serve.

I will certainly be preparing more from this book. It’s packed with great recipes and most are easy to put together.  Perfect for using after a long day at work and perfect for the bacon lover in the house!

Adding my review to Goodreads and Beth Fish Reads for her Weekend Cooking Series.

Weekend Cooking is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post to share: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, quotations, photographs. If your post is even vaguely foodie, feel free to grab the button and link up anytime over the weekend. You do not have to post on the weekend. Please link to your specific post, not your blog’s home page. For more information, see the welcome post.

 

10 thoughts on “101 Things to do with Bacon by Eliza Cross

  1. Yes!! It’s a bacon weekend! Love the sound of that chicken — and look how pretty it turned out. I can see why this meal would be a winner!

    Like

  2. Yum, yum, yum, yum, yum. I love everything about this. Of course I love absolutely anything at all with bacon – wrapped in bacon, stuffed with bacon, on top of bacon, beside bacon – I don’t mind, it’s just better with bacon. Totally intrigued by the marmalade – I can’t wait to try that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

