The Pies and Peril Blog Tour & Giveaway! A Guest Post by Author Janel Gradowski

This is a guest post by Janel Gradowski, author of many fiction publications including her latest book – Pies and Peril. I like to read as much as time allows and am a fan of mysteries as well as foodie novels. Ms. Gradowski combines the two and I am eager to get started on her new series.

Ok, take it away, Janel!

************************************************

I have been a fan of culinary mysteries for many years. In fact, I love reading about food. It’s not uncommon for me to sit down with a cookbook and read it like a novel from cover to cover. I have a huge bookcase full of foodie fiction and another devoted just to culinary mysteries. I really enjoy reading about gourmet meals and mouth-watering baked goods. It’s no wonder that my first mystery novel is filled with food and includes recipes.

Writing the book was easy. I try all kinds of food and am a bit obsessed with watching Food Network and The Cooking Channel. Integrating everything from pies to homemade chicken fingers into the manuscript was easy. Coming up with some of the actual recipes wasn’t.

First of all, I tend to look at most recipes as suggestions. I swap out ingredients to fit my taste or use what I have on hand. Unless I’m baking, I tend to leave the measuring cups and spoons in the cupboard. I definitely had more fun describing the items in the book than I did writing the recipes for them. My cooking style is rather freeform. A squirt of this, a sprinkle of that and a splash or two of something else. Developing the recipes, complete with exact measurements so others can reproduce them, was a bit of a chore for me. Which, now that I think about it is a bit odd. In my former life as a beadwork designer I very rarely designed any freeform patterns. I was all about precise symmetry. Writing beadwork patterns and writing recipes just aren’t the same!

Then, when it was time for me to test the recipes I ended up with a dental dilemma. A temporary crown broke in half the day after I got it put on. The replacement temporary crown was pretty much a big, hard lump of plastic. I couldn’t chew at all on the left side of my mouth and because the repair was uneven, I could barely chew at all. I had to deal with that nastiness for a month. The month that I had to test recipes for the book, since I had been putting off that task. I managed to get four recipes done for the book (thank goodness!) and I will put more on my website as I develop them. I’m sure coming up with those will be much easier now that I can actually eat the dishes I cook without worrying about toothaches or emergency dentist visits.

*************
Thank you Janel for guesting here today. Looking forward to your future books. How about a GIVEAWAY now?! I am pleased to be able to offer a giveaway of an e-book version of this fun new mystery.

To enter the giveaway just leave a comment below telling me you’d like to have a copy and I’ll pick a random entry to receive this prize. Deadline for entries is Sunday, July 27, 2014. I will collect the names on Sunday evening and do a random draw.

This prize is offered up to anyone, yes, it’s international and so no matter where you live – you may enter. I will forward the contact info on to the author and you’ll get your ebook.

Here is more info on Janel Gradowkski…….

Author bio:

Janel Gradowski lives in a land that looks like a cold weather fashion accessory, the mitten-shaped state of Michigan. She is a wife and mom to two kids and one Golden Retriever. Her journey to becoming an author is littered with odd jobs like renting apartments to college students and programming commercials for an AM radio station. Somewhere along the way she also became a beadwork designer and teacher. She enjoys cooking recipes found in her formidable cookbook and culinary fiction collection. Searching for unique treasures at art fairs, flea markets and thrift stores is also a favorite pastime. Coffee is an essential part of her life. She writes the Culinary Competition Mystery Series, along with The Bartonville Series (women’s fiction) and the 6:1 Series (flash fiction). She has also had many short stories published in both online and print publications.

Check out Janel Gradowski at these places!

Janel Gradowski’s Website
Facebook
Twitter
Purchase books HERE

Hooking up with Beth Fish Reads for her Weekend Cooking Series since it’s a foodie inspired book.

Weekend Cooking is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post to share: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, quotations, photographs. If your post is even vaguely foodie, feel free to grab the button and link up anytime over the weekend. You do not have to post on the weekend. Please link to your specific post, not your blog’s home page. For more information, see the welcome post.

11 thoughts on “The Pies and Peril Blog Tour & Giveaway! A Guest Post by Author Janel Gradowski

  1. I think most avid cooks view recipes as suggestions. I too love culinary reads and find myself devoting a lot of my spare time to these and not professional reading like I should. Oh, well! Great guest post and will have to add this to my reading list.

    Like

  2. Ha!! That’s me too: I don’t really follow recipes and I don’t measure. Most of our dinners are one-of-a-kind dishes because I forgot to write anything down!

    Like

  3. Thanks for the e-book giveaway! Please enter my name in the drawing! I usually only make up recipes for salads and stir-fries. For anything more ambitious or complicated, I definitely want a recipe!

    Like

  4. This is the second review of seen for Janel’s book, and I enjoy visiting her blog, so it was great to read a bit about her process for writing this book. I’ve definitely added this to my “must read” list, and of course would love to win the giveaway 🙂

    Like

  5. Thank you Janel for guest posting at my humble little site 🙂

    The names were put in a bowl and a random pick was Laurie. Congrats Laurie C for winning the eBook and much thanks to Janel for graciously participating in this giveaway. I will post it separately – Laurie please send me your email address so I can pass it to Janel.

    Thanks all!

    Like

Leave a Reply

