My Paris Kitchen by David Lebovitz

parisKitchenI am a big fan of cookbooks, well…all books actually, but cookbooks are always in the top five on my reading list. Picking up a cookbook I can happily sit and skim over the recipes and photos, enjoying the occasional personal remark introducing a particular recipe.

My Paris Kitchen is in a special category. It’s not just a compendium of recipes and photos, it’s a story line about where to shop in Paris, narratives of merchants and the conversations they have with their customers. It’s a memoir of cooking, shopping and living in Paris. The book is filled with colorful photographs of the city and of course, the yummy dishes Lebovitz prepared.

Like many of Lebovitz’s fans I follow him on Twitter and read his blog. He was quite kind in taking the time to respond to a comment to me on Twitter. A photo with a batch of lovely Madelines was posted and I remarked that I was disappointed mine came out burnt on the edges. He let me know Madelines aren’t always an easy concoction and answered a question. That was quite nice as I imagine he is inundated with requests and comments.

The first recipe I tried from this book was the eggplant caviar. We were having grilled lamb so eggplant was a natural as a side dip.

Recipe here:
Prepare a cookie sheet by covering with a piece of parchment paper, lightly oil with olive oil and liberally salt the oiled paper.

Take a globe eggplant puncture the skin all over. Now roast the whole uncut eggplant over direct flame for about 5 minutes. The longer you keep it over a flame the smokier your end result will be.

Cut the ends off the eggplant and place on a cookie sheet, cut side down into the oil.
Roast at 375 F for 30 to 40 minutes, until eggplant is soft.

Scrape eggplant pulp out of skin and place in a food processor. Add a ½ tablespoon olive oil, 2 tablespoons fresh lemon, salt and pepper, smoked paprika and a few garlic cloves. Pulse until almost smooth. I added a bit too much lemon and so my mixture was smoother than called for. But it was good!

If you are a Francophile or you love David Lebovitz or you just enjoy looking through an excellent cookbook, this book won’t disappoint.

*******************************************************************

More Info from the publisher – Random House
And here is some info about David Lebovitz – A short author bio

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

Adding my review to Words and Peace French Book Challenge and Beth Fish Reads for her Weekend Cooking Series.

Weekend Cooking is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post to share: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, quotations, photographs. If your post is even vaguely foodie, feel free to grab the button and link up anytime over the weekend. You do not have to post on the weekend. Please link to your specific post, not your blog’s home page. For more information, see the welcome post.

14 thoughts on “My Paris Kitchen by David Lebovitz

  1. I a a big fan off David’s. I will have to check this book out, haven’t read anything of his sins Sweet Life (which I loved).

    Like

  2. I use to read Lebovitz’s blog and I loved reading about his journey and of course all of his gorgeous photographs. I have his ice cream cookbook but I haven’t sought out anything else by him. If I ever head to Paris I’ll be sure to check this one out!

    Like

  3. I’m a big fan of David’s too. I enjoy his blog, and have read his earlier book The Sweet Life in Paris. I haven’t seen a copy of this book in Australia now that I come to think of it, but it is on my rather large wish list that I carry around in my head. Eggplant and lamb is a match made in heaven- I’m sure it was delicious.

    Like

  4. Pingback: A Roundup of my 2014 Reading Challenges | Novel Meals

Leave a Reply

