The Kitchen Diaries by Nigel Slater

kitchendiaries Nigel Slater’s book The Kitchen Diaries is filled with good stories and wonderful recipes. It feels a cheat to say I am done with it because I return to it again and again.

Sometimes the diary entry is about the weather or what went on in the market while he purchased mushrooms or veggies. Inevitably it leads to a recipe which pairs with the story. I have prepared many meals from this book, some I follow to the letter and some I need to adapt.

One of my favorites has to be the zucchini fritters. They are filled with feta cheese and I have to say, they are addictively tasty.
Here is a photo. For the full recipe (and more enticing photos) click HERE.

It’s a pleasure to tuck into one of Nigel’s diary type books, I get lost I reading about daily life in England, his garden and what he plans to make for dinner.

Here is more info on Nigel Slater

His website
The Guardian
He’s on Twitter too

Adding my review to Goodreads, The British Book Challenge and Beth Fish Reads for her Weekend Cooking Series.

Weekend Cooking is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post to share: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, quotations, photographs. If your post is even vaguely foodie, feel free to grab the button and link up anytime over the weekend. You do not have to post on the weekend. Please link to your specific post, not your blog’s home page. For more information, see the welcome post.

21 thoughts on “The Kitchen Diaries by Nigel Slater

  1. I liked Toast too but haven’t seen this book. Now, of course, I need to track down a copy. And how timely to give those of in the Northern Hemisphere a zucchini recipe. 🙂

    Like

  2. I love cookbooks. Especially ones that are more than recipes, with stories or anecdotes in them. This one looks really good and I saw that you also had David Leibovitz’s book. I have one of his and I read his memoir, The Sweet Life in Paris and it was excellent.

    Like

  3. Yum. Those look better than my zucchini fritters. Usually by this time of year I’m inventing new ways to use up all the zucchini, but they’ve been slow this year. We’ve been having a cool summer.

    Like

  4. Those fritters look delicious! Just as a sneaky heads up you might want to check out the British Books Challenge September post when it goes up on my blog on Monday :o)

    Like

  5. Pingback: A Roundup of my 2014 Reading Challenges | Novel Meals

  6. Pingback: Three Cheers for Eat by Nigel Slater | Novel Meals

Leave a Reply

