The Nourished Kitchen by Jennifer McGruther

nouroshed I was excited to find The Nourished Kitchen delivered to my gate last week as it’s book I was looking forward to browsing.

What I liked:

The author is a food educator so it’s no surprise that she goes into great detail about ingredients, nutrition and preparation. The detailed explanations are one of the things I liked about the book besides the gorgeous photography. The sections regarding sustainability and cooking from our gardens was good but would be put to more practical use if you lived on a farm.

Great layout – The Nourished Kitchen is divided into 8 chapters – From the Garden, Pasture, Range, Waters, Fields, Wild, Orchard and Larder.

What I didn’t like:

There are many recipes devoted to foods I personally won’t eat. There is zero appeal for pickled tongue or broiled kidneys. Some recipes list ingredients which I don’t have access to: elk backstrap (yes, there is actually a recipe using elk meat), pheasant, goose liver and raw milk.

I understand the premise of the book is about sustainability. We would do what we needed to do to survive if society breaks down and we are dependent on our farm and garden for survival. But I don’t have elk or pheasants to hunt or purchase. Learning what to do with raw milk would be helpful if I had cows or goats but not so practical for those of us not living on a farm.

A lovely book but not a practical one for me. There were some good salad and side dish recipes that would work for me. The roasted root vegetables with maple syrup is always a winner at our table. Here is my version below.

More info and social media sites for the author:
Pinterest
Twitter
Author Bio
Read Chapter One
More Info

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

2 thoughts on “The Nourished Kitchen by Jennifer McGruther

  1. Pickled tongue, broiled kidney, goose liver? Yuck!! I don’t eat organ meat.

    I have eaten Buffalo, Elk, Wild Boar and Ostrich Burgers at Fuddrucker’s though and loved them!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

