A Roundup of my 2014 Reading Challenges

Late in 2013 I came across several reading challenges that appealed to me. Here is my roundup for the three.

The Eclectic Reading Challenge was fun with 12 categories of books. Alas, I only completed half of it. Guess that tells me where my reading interests lie since I put off the other categories. The year is not out and I am still reading, but this challenge is done!

Here is my round up. The categories completed are bolded. Sadly I only managed half of the categories.

Categories

1. Award Winning The Cuckoo’s Calling
2. True Crime (Non Fiction)
3. Romantic Comedy
4. Alternate History Fiction (The Ocean at the End of the Lane, Neil Gaiman)
5. Graphic Novel
6. Cosy Mystery Fiction (Past Reason Hated by Peter Robinson)
7. Gothic Fiction (Jamacia Inn, Daphne du Maurier)
8. War/Military Fiction
9. Anthology
10. Medical Thriller Fiction
11. Travel (Non Fiction) (Notes from a Small Island, Bill Bryson)
12. Published in 2014 (Perfect by Rachel Joyce) and (The Tastemakers by David Saxon)

Next up is the British Reading Challenge hosted by Sarah at Feeling Fictional

There wasn’t a set number of books for this one, just join in each month and you may win a prize. I won in September (yea!) but haven’t received my book yet. It’s a long way across the ocean.

I read 14 books for this challenge and linked up each month.

1. Past Reason Hated by Peter Robinson

2. Sweet Tooth by Ian McEwan

3. Perfect by Rachel Joyce

4. The Ocean at the End of the Lane, Neil Gaiman

5. The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith (J.K.Rowling)

6. Blood at the Root by Peter Robinson

7. Innocent Graves by Peter Robinson

8. The Kitchen Diaries by Nigel Slater

9. A Dog’s Life by Peter Mayle

10. Jamaica Inn by Daphne du Maurier

11. Eat by Nigel Slater

12. Blood at the Root by Peter Robinson

13. Getting Even by Sarah Rayner

14. Broadchurch by Erin Kelly

Words And Peace

Last but not least is the French Reader’s Challenge hosted by Words and Peace. I only managed three books for this one.

1. The Apprentice by Jacques Pepin

2. My Paris Kitchen by David Lebovitz

3. A Dog’s Life by Peter Mayle

Some of the books were obviously used in several challenges. I enjoyed participating!
Next year I will be signing up for the British Book Challenge and What’s in a Word.

Happy Reading!

4 thoughts on “A Roundup of my 2014 Reading Challenges

Leave a Reply

