Reader’s Workout

Readers-workouts-Joy-1

This is my first link up with Joy at Joy’s Book Blog for her Reader’s Workouts series. I was inspired to join in after determining I need to eat healthier and exercise more. This was due to a recent medical issue (I wrote about my diagnosis here).

Our local library can be a wonderful source for books, DVDs and educational pursuits. Yoga DVDs are plentiful and I need to figure out which ones work for me now. I am a beginner so not all the instructional DVDS work for me. This is one of the first I tried – Yoga for your Back. It’s a good 30 minute program with stretches that I can do…well, most of the poses anyway. You use a chair and it focuses on stretching your back.

IMG_2241

I haven’t bought a mat or any “gear” to try yoga. Just jumping right in. Now, when I get on the floor I have all sorts of attention. Miss Aja placed a smelly hedgehog dog toy in my face. Pawed the air in front of me when I was trying to watch the DVD and mimic the stretches………….but I love her.

ribs 062

So far it’s one I know I will check out again. My daughter-in-law gave me some of her beginner yoga DVDs a few days ago but I haven’t been able to view those yet.

Walking is another form of exercise I love and as soon as the weather warms up a bit more, my husband and I will start back with our morning walks. First we walk the dogs and that’s a warm up. They stop and sniff so many things that it’s not a great deal of exercise walking them. Once they are put back in the house Doug and I walk rapidly for a half hour before work.

That’s it for my Reader’s Workout this week.

9 thoughts on “Reader’s Workout

  1. Glad to have you join us! My favorite yoga DVDs are the ones by Suzanne Deason and Barbara Benagh. I also really like Crunch’s Candlelight Yoga.

    We’re headed out for a walk right now! It might not be a long one but should be interesting with all of our snow.

    Like

Leave a Reply

