Pete Evans talks Paleo

Pete Pete Evans states he doesn’t do things by halves and threw himself in thoroughly researching the Paleo way of life. For this diet, or lifestyle, you omit refined sugars, legumes and grains. Also omit most dairy from your daily diet. That sounds like a rough diet for me as I do love my dairy. The approach to this Paleo diet is to eat whole unprocessed foods. I am certainly on board with that.

Some of the ingredients will be hard to find in your typical grocery stores but places like Trader Joe’s, Whole Foods and your local co-op will have those items.

This is a hard cover book, great layout, easy to understand recipes and gorgeous photography.

There are many good looking recipes that I have bookmarked such as Vietnamese chicken wings and jerk chicken and papaya-mango salsa. For my first chicken dish I will prepare Evans’ roast chicken thighs with garlic, lemon and onions.

IMG_2258

Roast Chicken Thighs with garlic, lemon and herbs

1/23 cup duck fat, ghee or coconut oil
2 TB raw honey
1 tsp. dried Italian seasoning
1 tsp. onion powder
¼ tsp. red pepper flakes
6 boneless, skin on chicken thighs
3 lemons, halved or quartered
4 shallots, halved
2 heads of garlic, halved
3 sprigs rosemary, chopped
1 tsp. dried oregano

Preheat oven to 400 F. In small bowl whisk together first five ingredients. Pour this mixture all over the chicken, turning pieces to coat all sides.
Arrange the lemon pieces, shallots and garlic around and under the chicken. Sprinkle with rosemary and oregano.
Roast uncovered for about 30 minutes or until chicken is cooked. The skin should be crispy and juices running clear.

*I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review. All opinions, nice and no-so-nice are my own 🙂

Adding my review to Goodreads and Beth Fish Reads for her Weekend Cooking Series.

Weekend Cooking is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post to share: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, quotations, photographs. If your post is even vaguely foodie, feel free to grab the button and link up anytime over the weekend. You do not have to post on the weekend. Please link to your specific post, not your blog’s home page. For more information, see the welcome post.

10 thoughts on “Pete Evans talks Paleo

  1. I don’t love meat enough to make it the centerpiece of my diet. I like my dairy, grains, and legumes. We do, however, eat very few processed foods, so I feel we’re doing okay health-wise.

    Like

  2. Pete is one of the judges on My Kitchen Rules Australia, love watching him and Manu. I’m all for dropping processed foods but I love dairy too much to go Paleo. I love roast chicken so I’d give that recipe a go, thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

  3. I’m a big fan of eliminating processed foods, but I was pleased that I could cut cravings and lose weight while still eating some grains, legumes, and dairy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

