Black Bean Soup to keep you warm

It’s still chilly out there and I thought today I would share a soup to warm your belly. It’s healthy too!
I originally posted about it at Squirrel Head Manor but have had it many times since.

In an effort to reduce fat the amount of sausage tipped into the pot of soup has been reduced. But as for beans and rice – I think I could eat it everyday. It’s just that good. To me.

Do you have any go-to comfort soups or stews? I’d love to hear about them and expand my horizons.

Black Bean Soup with Chorizo and Lime
From Cooking Light magazine, December 2013

2 teaspoons olive oil, divided
3 ounces Spanish chorizo, quartered lengthwise and cut into 1/2-inch pieces
1 cup chopped onion
1 cup chopped red bell pepper
2 teaspoons chopped fresh oregano
2 teaspoons minced garlic
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon chipotle chile powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 cups unsalted chicken stock (such as Swanson)
2 (15-ounce) cans unsalted black beans, rinsed, drained, and coarsely mashed
1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
1/4 cup reduced-fat sour cream
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro

Preparation
Heat a large saucepan over medium heat. Add 1 teaspoon oil to pan; swirl to coat.

Add chorizo; cook 3 minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove chorizo from pan (do not wipe pan).
Add remaining 1 teaspoon oil to pan; swirl to coat. Add onion and bell pepper; cook 3 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Stir in oregano and next 4 ingredients (through salt); cook 30 seconds. Stir in stock and beans.
Bring to a boil; reduce heat, and simmer 3 minutes. Stir in cooked chorizo and juice.

Ladle 1 1/4 cups soup into each of 4 bowls; top each serving with 1 tablespoon sour cream and 1 tablespoon cilantro.
***********************************
I’m hooking this post up at Beth Fish Reads for her Weekend Cooking Series.

Weekend Cooking is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post to share: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, quotations, photographs. If your post is even vaguely foodie, feel free to grab the button and link up anytime over the weekend. You do not have to post on the weekend. Please link to your specific post, not your blog’s home page. For more information, see the welcome post.

20 thoughts on “Black Bean Soup to keep you warm

  1. That looks delicious and I love how it has texture and is more like a stew than many of the typical black bean soups you seen around. And, soups are one of my go-tos for winter…I buy them frozen from a bakery at my farmer’s market. And, once my kids are a bit older, I’ll go back to making my own πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. We’re socked in a bit here so I made chili yesterday using most of my black beans from the freezer. I wish I had chorizo and this would definitely be made today!

    Like

Leave a Reply

