The Soup Club Cookbook

This is an interesting cookbook. It’s about soup. It’s about friendship, about sharing and being there for each other. I’m a big lover of soups and have soup no matter what sort of weather. Yes, even in 90+ degrees in summer we still enjoy soup for lunch many days.

There are many recipes in this book and not all of them are soups or stews. There are also side dishes and breads. The very cool thing about the recipes are the stories that accompany them. The back stories of these women and their families make it extra special. It started with four friends, women who didn’t know each other before they moved to New York City. They became friends & eventually decided to start a soup club.

Each one makes a homemade soup and delivers it to the other three families once a month. The other three weeks are spread out among the three friends so, you’re only cooking soup for a multitude once a month. The only con I can see about this book is the quantity and number of servings for each recipe. Since these ladies are making soup for four families you have recipes that will make more than you need. I guess. Maybe you have a very large family. For us it’s just two people and I am a big fan of leftovers to spread the meals out but….I don’t need 8 quarts of soup!

With so many intriguing recipes I am selecting a favorite of mine – lentil soup. The quantities of ingredients have been cut back tremendously and I am a “little bit of this, little bit of that” type measurer so….I will just include the recipe in it’s original format.

Lentil Soup

1/4 cup olive oil
3 medium yellow onions, finely chopped
8 medium carrots, finely chopped
1 tablespoon salt
6 to 8 garlic cloves, minced
1 tablespoon cumin
3 1/2 lbs brown or green lentils, rinsed and drained
8 springs thyme, leaves only
4 bay leaves
1 teaspoon ground pepper
6 quarts vegetable broth
1/4 cup tamari or soy sauce
Optional:
4 lemons
4 ounces Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese

Heat oil in stock pot. Add onions, carrots and celery. Sprinkle with salt and sauté vegetables until they begin to soften, about 7 minutes.
Add garlic and cumin and saute another few minutes.

Add lentils, thyme, bay leaves, pepper and vegetable broth. Bring soup to a boil, reduce heat and simmer, loosely cover, for about 20 minutes.

Remove soup from heat and discard bay leaves. Add tamari or soy sauce. Using an immersion blender lightly puree the soup. This adds a creamy texture but still leaves most of the lentils intact.

Optional:
Squeeze some lemon juice into each serving bowl before adding the heated soup. Rub more juice on the rim for those who sip soup out of the bowl.
Grate some cheese over the soup.

I will be joining Deb at Kahakai Kitchen for her Souper Sunday series this with Beth Fish’s Weekend Cooking Series .

SouperSundays

Weekend Cooking is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post to share: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, quotations, photographs. If your post is even vaguely foodie, feel free to grab the button and link up anytime over the weekend. You do not have to post on the weekend. Please link to your specific post, not your blog’s home page. For more information, see the welcome post.

20 thoughts on “The Soup Club Cookbook

  1. What a cool idea. I love the cover of the book too. I guess one could cut the recipes in half and freeze some. Might be nice to have a freezer full of homemade soups.

    Like

  2. I like that idea too – a soup club. I will admit that I don’t make too much soup/stew kinds of meals in the spring and summer, but fall and winter will be around again. I’m betting that you could half the recipes. We’re only two at our house as well and I have been on a quest to “cut down” a lot of recipes. Sometimes it works pretty well and sometimes not so much.

    Like

  3. Thanks for sharing the lentil soup recipe. Lentil soup is a favorite, but I would never have thought to add soy sauce.

    The community aspect of the soup club sounds lovely.

    Like

  4. This looks like a good book to try. I love cookbooks and have quite a few even after culling my collection when I moved last year. I am going to be making a lot of soup this week because I am on spring break and I want to restock my freezer for lunches. I’m always up to try new soup recipes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

