Dead Wake – Good Research but didn’t keep my interest

deadIf you like a book with well done research and a good story to boot, this might be for you. This is a story of the Lusitania as told from different perspectives. Larson researched the events on this tragedy giving us the thoughts from documents, journals and newspapers on the survivors, the German U Boat captain and the political events shaping the time period.

Starting from the beginning of the voyage and retelling the aftermath of the sinking, you will be well versed of the events. But I have to say the book didn’t grab my attention. The detail is there and the excitement comes when the ship is actually sinking but otherwise, it was a history lesson.

I have heard so much about Larson’s other books and much praise heaped on his writing ability as well as the ability to snare the reader’s attention. This wasn’t the case for me with this particular book.

*I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review. All opinions, nice and no-so-nice are my own 🙂

One thought on “Dead Wake – Good Research but didn’t keep my interest

Leave a Reply

