Book Tag: Reading Habits

I have been tagged, thank you to Angry Grey Cat. Check out her blog HERE. You’ll always find good reviews there, especially if you are a fan of mysteries.

Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

My favorite place is on a comfy corner of a sofa near a good lamp.

Bookmark or random piece of paper?

I have quite a collection of bookmarks, some I get free from the library and others I see at a bookstore and have to buy. If I have won a book from a publisher they usually send a note with their letterhead so I use that. Must remember not thank those who give me books.

Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter/a certain amount of pages?

My preference would be to stop after a chapter but it doesn’t always work out that way. I will read leaning against the sink as I wait for some part of dinner to finish or some stage where I need to turn the veggies, baste, etc. Most of the time I will read in the evenings, sitting on the sofa and break for a dessert. I always keep a book with me in my purse (a book or a Kindle) because you never know when you’ll have an opportunity to get back to your story!

Do you eat or drink while reading?

Lots of water. I may drink more water than any human, or so says my husband 😊

Multitasking: Music or TV while reading?

Usually my husband and I sit quietly and read. I would be awfully distracted by TV but light music wouldn’t be bad.

One book at a time or several at once?

Usually one book at a time but I will, on rare occasion, have two going at once.

Reading at home or everywhere?

I can read anywhere, I always have reading material with me.

Reading out loud or silently in your head?

Silently but there are times I read a passage so amazing, so descriptive or funny, that I read it aloud to my spouse. He does the same. It’s nice to share.

Do you read ahead or even skip pages?

I used to check out the last pages many years ago but I don’t do that anymore. I want the surprise. Once I lost my bookmark and when I opened the book it was revealed one character had been killed. When I was reading the book he wasn’t dead yet! That was a bummer spoiler for me.

I have scanned when reading George R.R. Martin’s description of the tiniest detail of apparel in the Fire and Ice series. There are some things he should just minimize.

Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?

I don’t go overboard on keeping it in new condition but I don’t intentionally break the spine. I love my Kindle Paperwhite and the spine issue isn’t applicable there.

Do you write in your books?

No, I don’t write in my books. Ok, there was a notation on the date made in my Nigella cookbooks. That’s it..

I tag the following bibliophiles to answer the questions above (if they want to):

I Wish I Lived in a Library

Joy’s Book Blog

Love, Laughter and Touch of Insanity

I’d Rather Be At The Beach

5 thoughts on “Book Tag: Reading Habits

  1. I can read anywhere as well. I carry some kind of reading material with me everywhere and that is why I sometimes have a couple of books going at a time. I will stick one in the pool bag (but not a library book in case it gets wet), a small mass market paperback can fit in my purse and then whatever I am reading at home, either on my kindle or a physical book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

