Seven Spoons is a very pretty cookbook

7Spoons
I have to admit the cover of this cookbook grabbed my attention first. It’s beautiful, it’s a crisp photo and makes you want to know what sort of recipes are contained in this cookbook. Before perusing it, I was not aware there was a blog by the same name. I have since gone and checked out her website, it’s very pretty and well organized.

Pros:
This hardcover gem is packed with lots of good photos. You can just turn pages and give in to the visual pleasure of looking at food, beautifully plated I may add.

The conversational tone introducing you to each recipe is inviting and easy to read. More like reading a friends excellent journal than looking through a cookbook by a stranger. Does that make sense? The introduction gives insight to Tara O’Brady’s early life, how she met her husband and her food journey.

There is a good deal of talk about stocking your pantry, cookware, tips and techniques for recipes.

It’s set up as most cookbooks with divisions for breakfast, soups, snacks and suppers, etc.

Cons:

There were some specialty items which I would find hard to obtain or it just wouldn’t fit my budget. Some recipes were lengthy with the number of ingredients you’d need. Not necessarily a bad thing but it’s a con for me for this particular book.

The writing is awfully small and that may sound like I am being picky, but my eyes aren’t the greatest! I don’t require large print books or anything like that but the font used was particularly small, especially if I were to prop this book on the counter to follow a recipe.

Overall this is a lovely book but not one I would keep as a go-to for meal rotations and planning.

More Information on this book HERE
Author Bio

* I received this book from the Blogging for Books Program. All opinions, nice or not-so-nice, are my own. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Seven Spoons is a very pretty cookbook

  1. I’m a little concerned about the print as well. I normally have cookbooks on a stand across the counter and constantly having to go up close to read it would be a problem. I looked at this one and while it’s gorgeous I wasn’t sure how much I would really use the recipes so I decided to pass. Sounds like I made the right decision though I might get it from the library to look at the pictures!

    Like

    • If you can get this from the library I think you’d like flipping through it. Speaking of font, the font on my blog here is as large as I can get it, wish I could make it bigger 😳

      Like

Leave a Reply

