Mailbox Monday

Happy Monday! Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week.

mailboxMONDAY

Recently I received three books in the mailbox.

Mark Bittman’s Kitchen Matrix

matrix

Kitchen Matrix is different from Mark Bittman’s other cookbooks. It’s just as informative and comprehensive as the others but this one is so visual. It’s colorful and super easy to view at a glance. There are so many different combinations to make a good meal.

The Flash of the Drunken Master by Susan Spann

drunken

Evidently this is the third book in a series called Shinobi Mystery. I did not know that.

The main characters are an undercover ninja bodyguard and a Portuguese priest. It almost sounds like a joke…..” A Portuguese priest, a ninja and a samurai walk into a bar….” But actually I am not too far off there. The story starts with the priest and the ninja walking to the local sake house so…see…..I nailed that one. The time period is 16th century Japan and everyone, understandably, has names like Hiro, Tomiko and Ginijiro.

A State of Arrested Development: Critical Essays on the Innovative Television Comedy by Kristin Barton
arresy=t

This is one I probably shouldn’t have asked to win through LibraryThing. People kept telling me the show was hilarious so…we watched a bit of it. Not a fan. I asked for the book in preparation of knowing some background of the show.

That’s it for me. What did you get in the mail?

8 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday

  1. I’m really curious about Kitchen Matrix. That sounds intriguing. I’ve heard good things about Arrested Development as well but I think it’s a show you have to watch a number of episodes before it really clicks. Unfortunately, I have too many tv shows as it is and not enough time to watch a full season of a show I’m just meh about.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Books That Caught Our Eye | Mailbox Monday

  3. Oh the Mark Bittman sounds great!! I’ve been wanting one of his books but I’ve been turned off by the lack of illustrations. Not sure why I need gorgeous color pictures in order to be enticed to make a dish. LOL! Will have to check it out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

