The Killing Floor by Lee Child

imageThe Killing Floor is my first Jack Reacher novel and my second book for the British Book Challenge in 2016. My husband has read all of the Reacher novels and enjoyed them so I thought, I’ll give it a whirl. I always liked Robert Ludlum and I enjoy Peter Robinson so….the writing style of Lee Child is a mix of the two.

After this first book I know I will continue reading the series. The plot has just enough suspense, gun play and detective work and observations to capture my interest. The Killing Floor, so named after the brutal way a team of bad guys go after their victims is….gruesome. It doesn’t go into serious detail about the killings so I was good with that. It’s the police procedural part that intrigues me. What took some getting used to were the short choppy sentences such as:

I picked up my mug. The coffee was cold. I looked at the waitress and nodded toward my cup.

The entire book isn’t made up of these choppy sentences but there are many in there. They set the scene then the storyline evolves at a good enough rate to keep me reading. Now, after the rich detail in Tana French’s Dublin detective squad mysteries, this may seem low brow. But honestly, if you like a mystery and a bit of action, Lee Child gets captures all of it with his Jack Reacher novels.

Movie vs. Book

When the first Jack Reacher movie came out on DVD we watched it. My husband was not pleased by Tom Cruise playing the part of Reacher. I had not read the books yet so had no point of reference. Allow me to share the differences: Cruise is dark haired and 5’9” and sullen in the movie. Lee Child describes Reacher as a massive 6’6”, broad shouldered and fair haired. So now I know what caused the frown when the movie starred Tom Cruise. Chris Helmsworth would have worked. Big guy with broad chest, blonde……that works.

image
More about the author

Lee Child is the #1 internationally bestselling author of the Jack Reacher thrillers. His debut, Killing Floor, won both the Anthony and the Barry awards for Best First Mystery, and The Enemy won both the Barry and the Nero awards for Best Novel. “Jack Reacher”, the film based on the 9th novel, One Shot. Lee Child is a native of England and a former television director, lives in New York City and the south of France with his wife and daughter.

Linking to The Overflowing Library for the 2016 British Book Challenge.

BBC

5 thoughts on “The Killing Floor by Lee Child

  1. I haven’t read this book or seen the movie. I think Cruise was a bad choice too if the book was about a taller blond man. I need to read some books for the British challenge.

    Like

    • If you have ever read any Robert Ludlum books you may like this style too, Vicki. For my next British book challenge entry I want to focus on one of the classics or something more involved.

      Like

    • It’s not brilliant but it kept my interest. There is something so it can be a big crew some though. It doesn’t go into detail but it’s referenced, that makes any sense .

      Like

  2. Pingback: Make Me by Lee Child | Novel Meals

Leave a Reply

