The Bee-Friendly Garden

image

The Bee-Friendly Garden

When I saw this book I knew I needed to have it to add to our gardening books. It’s a very pretty book and filled with colorful photos of gardens, flowers and useful information about bees. I have wanted to start a flowering garden to attract bees, place it near the vegetable garden so we can get the benefits of the little pollinators. So far I have not started the flower garden but this book has me drafting up plans.

For one thing, I had no idea there were so many types of bees in the world. Also, I didn’t know they had a preference to certain colors such as blue or white. My preference would have been to plant bright red and pink flowering plants but I would do better with the cooler colors. This is quite an educational book and one that any gardener would find useful.

The section on designing your own garden appeals to me very much. There is a section (with good photos) on page 146 and 147 showing how to create a lawn replacement with shrubs and flowers which attract hummingbirds and bees. Not only has the water bill gone down (as there isn’t grass to take care of) but it created a beautiful English garden which takes half the time to take care of.

The back of the book sports a good index and a chart with plant names, a hardiness zone number and indication if the plant is native or not.

If you like to garden and have any interest in bees, check this one out.

Disclaimer: I was provided a copy of this book from Blogging for Books, all opinions are mine, nice and otherwise.

6 thoughts on “The Bee-Friendly Garden

    • I like the vegetable books I am getting, gardening books and all, but some of the best advice I am getting is from the local nurseries. I want to expand our garden this year.

      Like

  1. Wow, I need to check this out. I one book about pollinators and the garden, but it is mostly just photos. I would love to see that gardening plot plan.

    Like

    • My original inspiration came from Nigel Slater’s book Kitchen Diaries. I love how he would drW up the plans and think of more than just where to plant but consider time of year, soils, harvest, etc.

      Like

Leave a Reply

