The Travelers by Chris Pavone

travelI had been wanting to read Chris Pavone’s novels since the Ex Pat came out. For whatever reason I never did manage to make time for his previous two novels before this one, The Travelers, ended up in the house. I like a thriller, I like espionage and mystery but The Travelers just didn’t do it for me. Maybe it was the main character. I couldn’t emphasize with Will, I couldn’t get in his corner.

Will Rhodes has a very cool job – he’s a travel writer. While he’s working in Argentina he somehow manages to screw up his life by cheating on his wife and then getting blackmailed by the CIA. If he doesn’t do as asked, his wife will know he’s not the ideal husband. Somehow, I think she’s already on track there and would be better off without him anyway. With that information hanging over his head he proceeds to travel around Europe doing what he is told in hopes his life will return to a somewhat normal semblance.

The character is well developed, so well that I could imagine him as a real person and therefore, dislike him. I don’t want to give spoilers but let me say that if / or when Will died, that would be fine with me. See….you can still read this book and not know what happens to the main character. I’m not a spoiler, hate that!

There was quite a bit of action and I know it will sound strange that I would like to read his previous books after this one…. but yeah….I read good things about The ExPats and The Accident so, I would give this author a try again. As for recommending this book, I just can’t. I’ve already abandoned in the break room at work as I don’t need to hang on to this one.

*I received this book free from LibraryThing.  All opinions are my own.

3 thoughts on “The Travelers by Chris Pavone

Leave a Reply

