Perfect English Cottage By Ros Byam Shaw

english

When I requested this book from the library I didn’t know what a treat I was in for.  This is gorgeous book.

It’s a large book, giving you full benefit of the elegantly photographed and organized pages.  The book is divided into categories such as Romance, Character, Holiday, Elegance and Simplicity.  My favorite is under the Romance section in the profile of Literary Legacy.

cottage4

Not all the beautiful old cottages were as lovely as they are now in their restored state. The author reminds us some of those cottages housed large families who lived in close quarters, one big room, and in squalid conditions. While some of those have been restored many were destroyed, newer buildings put in place keeping the “theme” as close to the time period as they can.

engpic

If you like looking at design and the architecture of English cottages, this is definitely a book to acquire. You can get interior design ideas, gardening ideas and more by perusing the photos. I was further educated about the author, Ros Byam Shaw, a Brit living in Devon.

Ms. Shaw is a frequent columnist at The Telegraph. Check out her article HERE about a home in Somerset.

Shaw has also authored many other books such as Perfect English Farmhouse, Old House New Home and Country Escapes. There will be many of her books to give me an English Fix.

Linking up with Joy’s British Isles Friday and Kirsty at The Overflowing Library for the British Book Challenge

BriFri-logoBBC

9 thoughts on “Perfect English Cottage By Ros Byam Shaw

  1. When I was a child my parents owned a cottage on a lake in a town 2 hours from our house and we’d go there on weekends and summer vacation. I loved the cottage decor. After a few years they built onto it and made it our permanent home, and then redecorated. I loved living there. I think I’d love this book and am going to see if my library has it. I’m moving soon and am wanting to do the house in a cottage/bohemian theme.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Prudence #BookReview #BriFri | Joy's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

