Modern Potluck just wasn’t my cuppa tea

modern potluck

I saw the word Potluck and thought this would have an excellent selection of recipes. It does in fact have many recipes as well as wonderful glossy photos. The statement to give people “foolproof, crowd-pleasing” recipes fell short for me and my household in regard to taste preferences. I see many 4 and 5 star reviews and honestly, I am happy for those folks that this book was a success for them.

For me, the word Potluck inspires casseroles and easy to prepare foods that you know almost everyone wants to sample. You arrive with “the dish” and people say, yesssssssss….I love that or can’t wait to try it!

This wasn’t the mental image that came to mind as I turned page after page trying to find something I would cook. Something we would make over and over. In my opinion, this book is for people who are extremely passionate and adventurous regarding some out of the ordinary ingredients and combinations. An asparagus quiche sounds good but I’m not sure about the rye crust.

Tuna, capers and slow roasted tomatoes would work for me as would the deviled eggs. But I don’t need a cookbook to assist with deviled eggs or to come up with creative combinations to give them some zing. Same goes for the potato salad.

This book is well organized into sections for snacks, dips, drinks, main dishes, etc. Also it caters to a wide variety of gluten-free, dairy-free, vegetarian and vegan. There are many recipes for meat eaters too.

It’s a pretty book, it’s just not for me so I will donate this book to the library.

More info

Author Bio

I received a copy of this cookbook through the Blogging for Books program.  All opinions are my own.

8 thoughts on “Modern Potluck just wasn’t my cuppa tea

    • Vicki, the library is the best for test driving a new book or cookbook. I like. Do that before committing money. Too bad you didn’t have luck. Which cookbooks, if you don’t mind me asking.

      Like

    • Thanks, Katherine, I have gotten some cookbooks I like. I just looked at my Klout score and its crap! That may be why I’m not getting the selection I used to.

      Like

  1. I almost requested this one too Tina, but when I finished my last post all the cookbook/food books were out. I ended up with a humorous one that I think I’ll like. Getting ready to be a part of a review for Soup Swap which I’m looking forward to digging into.

    Like

Leave a Reply

