Rainy Day Sisters by Kate Hewitt

rainyday
Based on a review by my bookish friend at Angry Grey Cat Reads I picked up this novel by Kate Hewitt. Her review may be found HERE.

Since I seemed to be on a police procedural kick lately I wanted to read a completely different genre. This book would be classified as women’s fiction and the setting was absolutely perfect. My great grandparents and his line hailed from Cumbria, living in Burnrigg and Wetheral before coming to the United States to start a new life. Reading about the Cumbria setting took me away as an armchair traveler.

The Rainy Day Sisters are Lucy and Juliet. They are actually half-siblings who haven’t grown up together or had much contact with one another over the years. Their mother, Fiona, clearly favors the younger child Lucy and has shunned Juliet all her life. We find out why near the end of the book but I can say, I was not at all sympathetic with Fiona.

After Fiona managed to derail Lucy’s career in Boston, Juliet offers Lucy sanctuary in her small village, telling her to come live at her B&B and take a temporary job at the local school. It doesn’t take long for Lucy to love the village and the people, especially her dishy boss Alex Kincaid. Where Lucy is fun loving and quick to smile, Juliet is standoffish and keeps her feelings to herself. Clearly they want to become closer and have a sisterly relationship. It’s a family drama with a bit of romance thrown in. Not the sort of book I usually gravitate toward but I know I would read more by Kate Hewitt.

As a matter of fact, when I opened this book I saw it’s a series called Hartley-by-the-Sea so I will add these to my stacks for future reading.

Check out this little box of Yorkshire tea I found at World Market.  I had not seen such a small box before and had to grab it.  Perfect to go with a story set in northern England.

york

My Cumbrian history may be found at the Delaware County Historical Society HERE.

Linking up with Joy’s British Isles Friday

BriFri-logo

6 thoughts on “Rainy Day Sisters by Kate Hewitt

    • Right now I am an armchair traveler until I retire! So many places I’d like to go and walking on ancestral locales would be heavenly. So glad you recommended this book.

      Like

Leave a Reply

