Outlander Kitchen – an exciting cookbook for fans of the Outlander series!

outlandcookbook

I remember picking up the paperback novel Outlander by Diana Gabaldon from the library’s sale table.  Historical fiction, a bit of time travel and a venue in the  Scottish Highlands had me very interested.  As with many Gabaldon fans, I fell in love with the series.  This was my first book by this author.

The books are great but I must admit I wasn’t a big fan of the TV show.   The actor playing Jamie just isn’t right (for me). Yes, I know I am in the minority regarding the actor playing Jamie but….it just doesn’t work for me.

Still….being a fan of this series I knew I had to check out this new cookbook, Outlander Kitchen by Theresa Carle- Sanders.  I am pleased to say this book is fantastic-  a wonderful gift for the Outlander fan.  Christmas is coming up so, keep that in mind.

Each recipe is preceded by a passage from one of the books (see below) and the photo of the pastry or dish and full recipe. This is enjoyable to read through without a thought to which of these recipes you want to try.

outlander1

The forward on this book is also interesting to read.  It describes how our author came to find her passion in the kitchen after enduring a series of less-than-satisfying jobs.  Many times I admit to scanning the beginnings with the dedications and thoughts.  This one had me reading each and every paragraph.  Interesting.

This photo was too good for me to exclude.  She has a shiba inu, a breed I adore!  Shibas are certainly not for the first time dog owner, too big a challenge, but I am fascinated with the breed.  We still miss our Kobe who left us too soon but Aja, our 14 year old cream shiba, still rules the house.  Ok, more pup info than I needed to share here….couldn’t resist.

shibaoutland

One of the recipes I wanted to try was a simple one, Mrs. FitzGibbons’s Overnight Parritch.  This oatmeal breakfast figures prominently in the books and it seems they have it for breakfast quite a bit.

Tradionally made from oatmeal and stirred with a spurtle (clockwise, to keep the devil away).  Parritch, or porridge, evolved from pottage, a thick vegetable and grain stew that served as the mainstay of the European diet until the seventeenth century.

1 cup steel-cut oats

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 cups milk

2 teaspoons butter

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Just before you go to bed bring 1 cup water to boil in covered pot.  Stir in the oats and salt, cover the pot, turn off heat, and leave it overnight.  I did this but took the pot off the burner altogether.

In the morning, add the milk and butter and bring to a boil.  Reduce flame to low and simmer gently until tender, about 15 minutes.  Stir occasionally.

holly

This isn’t an exceptional recipe and one I could have made without the overnight steeping.  It was a great breakfast though.  We added cinnamon and honey to our bowls and had a rib-sticking breakfast.  Perfect for staving off all the sweets everyone brought in to work, I wasn’t the least tempted as I had a good breakfast.

oat

There are scores of other wonderful recipes and of course, excerpts from the books.  This one gets an A+    🙂

To check out the author’s website click HERE.

Adding my review to Goodreads, and linking up with Beth Fish Reads for her Weekend Cooking Series as well as Joy for her British Friday series.

Weekend Cooking is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post to share: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, quotations, photographs. If your post is even vaguely foodie, feel free to grab the button and link up anytime over the weekend. You do not have to post on the weekend. Please link to your specific post, not your blog’s home page. For more information, see the welcome post.
BriFri-logo

21 thoughts on “Outlander Kitchen – an exciting cookbook for fans of the Outlander series!

  1. This looks like fun and the beginning sounds interesting! I’m fascinated by Shibas and have heard that they’re not for the beginning dog owners as well. I grew up with Shelties who are working dogs and you have to keep busy or they go a bit crazy so I kind of understand!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fun! I read Outlander a long time ago, in a park on my lunch hours during my first job when I was feeling too shy to socialize and wanted a break during the middle of the day. Time-travel to Scotland was a very good break!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I heard about this book, and I really want to buy it because, well, OUTLANDER! Funny what you said about Jamie; it’s the actress playing Claire who isn’t quite right for me. But watch the show I do — religiously. 🙂

    I have a spurtle, bought in Scotland, even. It was a gift from a friend. Anyway, off to see about buying the cookbook.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A spurtle?! I am jealous, especially if you received it from the highlands. That’s funny about our perceptions regarding actors. Clair e totally works for me but as soon as I saw Jamie I exclaimed aloud, That is Not Jamie, to my bewildered husband.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Deb, if you like some historical fiction, a bit of time travel ( but not the sci-fi kind), some romance and a setting in the Scottish Highlands, you would like the series. There is some genealogy too.

      Like

  4. I read and loved the Diana Gabaldon Outlander books quite awhile ago, but have probably missed more recent ones. Often with books you get an idea of what the characters look like and a movie version might be quite off from that.

    As children we would occasionally go for breakfast to my grandmother’s house and she cooked her oatmeal porridge that way in a heavy cast aluminum pot. What a good memory.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Nice post! I’ve only read half of the first Outlander, but it’s on my to-do list to reread the first one sometime in 2017. I love the looks of Shibas,too. I’m pretty good with managing animals– we’ve rescued them all my adult life but now we are just letting the elderly here live out their lives in comfort– no more additions because we’re getting older. Hardest one we ever brought in is an Italian Greyhound we adopted at 2 y.o. and now is 13, but still a very needy handful of issues.

    Back to the book, it looks like fun! I love HF and especially set in U.K. and Ireland region. Not sure if I would buy it… since I imagine the recipes will be too “different” for my small family to enjoy, but I’d check it out of the library in a heartbeat 🙂 Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your nice comment, Rita. Any dog lover is a kindred spirit and it’s appreciated you participate in rescue. You would probably enjoy getting this from the library, give it a test run and see what you think of the stories.

      Like

  6. Pingback: A Yorkshire Christmas by Kate Hewitt #BriFri #BookReview – Joy's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

