Broadchurch and The Kindle English Mystery Book Club

broadchurch

Today I wanted to share my excitement over the pending release of Broadchurch (season three) and a new British mystery club I recently discovered.

Season one captivated me with the story line, the music and the starring cast of David Tennant and Olivia Colman.   We caught up with the second season and are now eagerly awaiting our local library to catalog the third.  I’m second in line for the DVD so I’m sure we’ll binge watch it the week it’s available for pick-up.

 

As for bookish things,  I am geared up for the Kindle English Mystery Book Club.

kindleEnglish

As a Goodreads member I’ve been looking at this group  for a while and finally joined up.  If you are a fan of British authors and mysteries, this is a great group.  There are many suggestions for authors and crime novels so you’ll always have good choices.  This is helping me discover new books, way more than I can read this year ….so far.

By way of a poll on the site they select two new books to read for the month.  One is a value read, meaning it can be purchased at a good price.  For September they read Tana French’s novel The Trespasser.  As I had read that one previously I decided not to join in at that time.  The value read was Agatha Christie’s novel Sparkling Cyanide.

Coming up for October we will be reading The Devil’s Work by Mark Edwards and the value read is The Whistable Pearl Mystery by Julie Wassmer.   A discussion thread opens the following month.  Looking forward to that as these authors are new to me.

So, are you a fan of Broadchurch and are you looking forward to the latest season?

What new authors have you discovered lately?  Please share 🙂

Linking up with Joy’s British Isles Friday

BriFri-logo

 

7 thoughts on “Broadchurch and The Kindle English Mystery Book Club

    • I like the show, it’s a drama and the scenery is wonderful. I have not gotten my copy yet of Whistabke Pearl but plan to check our used bookstore today. I started the Devil’s Work already.

      Like

  1. Pingback: Mystery & Math in Cambridge #BriFri – Joy's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

