Bookish news – Goodreads Best Books & Non-Fiction November!

Go Vote!! Check out the poll at Goodreads.  Best Books of 2017 at Goodreads has 20 categories ranging from fiction, memoirs, thrillers to children’s books.  There were some categories I didn’t vote in as I had not read any of the books up for an award.  BUT – and this is a big but – you can add your own choice of book to vote for if it was published in 20147 and meets the category criteria.

For Mystery and Thrillers I added Peter Robinson’s book Sleeping in the Ground.  Will it make it to the next round of voting?  Probably not if I am the only one voting for it but I liked it very much so, I voted for it in that category.  Opening round ends in 4 days then they move to the semifinal round.  Go vote and check out the books 🙂

Nonfiction November started October 30, and ends December 1, 2017.   I first read about this event at Kim’s site, Sophisticated Dorkiness and then started seeing it on my other favorite bookish sites.

NonfictionNovember-300x251
comfortFood Will you be participating?  I am going to give it a whirl this year starting with Emily Nunn’s book Comfort Food Diaries.

The first weekly prompt for Nonfiction November is Your Year in Nonfiction, and will be hosted by Julie @ JulzReads:

Take a look back at your year of nonfiction and reflect on the following questions – What was your favorite nonfiction read of the year? What nonfiction book have you recommended the most? What is one topic or type of nonfiction you haven’t read enough of yet? What are you hoping to get out of participating in Nonfiction November?

This past year I would have to say my favorite non-fiction is Cork Dork by Bianca Bosker.  It is by far the most recommended non fiction I’ve read this year.  So informative and written with style and wit.  I was completely engaged.

On the other hand, Stir by Jessica Fechtor was also a big winner.  Hard to decided which was my favorite as they write about very different subjects and issues.  I would recommend both without reservation.

stir1

What do I hope to get out of participating this year? I’m not sure I know yet except to connect with like minded bookworms and be exposed to new books and subjects.   It should be a fun experience – join in!

 

15 thoughts on “Bookish news – Goodreads Best Books & Non-Fiction November!

  1. I’m so glad you decided to join in the fun! As you know, I love foodie nonfiction too and added Cork Dork to my list after reading your review. The Comfort Food Diaries and Stir are on the list now… thanks for the suggestions.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think this is my first year joining in … I just love seeing what other people have read and loved and I want it to get me into reading non-fiction more. I think I got turned off reading textbooks in university but I have this strong desire to expand my reading horizons! Good luck this month! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Nonfiction November – Sharing Introductions | JulzReads

  4. I look forward to seeing what you read! I loved Stir but haven’t read Cork Dork yet though I want too. I think you’ll like Comfort Food Diaries. While there are huge differences to me it felt like it had a similar tone. I’ve really neglected nonfiction this year which is crazy because it’s always one of my favorite genres. I’m hoping to fix that next year but I haven’t exactly figured out how.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Katherine, I like the Comfort Food Diaries so far and have two other books in mind for this month. Sometimes it’s hard to make time to read after working all day, and for some reason nonfiction takes me longer to get through. But I’m up for the challenge!

      Like

Leave a Reply

