Harlot’s Sauce: A Memoir of Food, Family, Love, Loss, and Greece by Patricia Volonakis Davis

Harlot’s Sauce: A Memoir of Food, Family, Love, Loss, and Greece by Patricia Volonakis Davis

Italian-American girl Patricia meets Gregori, “the gorgeous Greek” as she refers to him, and details their cross cultural romance in Harlot’s Sauce: A Memoir of Food, Family, Love, Loss, and Greece. The opening chapters where she describes her early life gave me a clear picture of my childhood friends’ lives. I orbited around and crossed into their Italian lives- however, it was always a fleeting experience for me as their families welcomed me into their homes, fed me and treated me as one of their own kids. Then I went back to the quiet beige life with a then noticeable absence of stinky cheese and white wife-beater undershirts. I am a child of the 60’s.

When the celebrations and parties took place in adjoining backyards, when colored lights were strung and the happy conversations and shouts were predominately Italian, I understood (later) they kept their traditions going by marrying within their own culture. It was the rare one who married an Irish kid or someone from out of the “family.” Have you ever watched My Big Fat Greek Wedding? Like that………..or Papa wouldn’t be happy. Again, I am referring to life as I was growing up in the 1960s.

This book tells a story you can see unfold in your mind. The picturesque scenery and family life in Greece, the leading lady’s unfortunate experience with Greek liquor, to Gregori’s obstinate behavior toward his fiancé …it’s a good read. Even as her marriage falters Patricia moves forward positively and writes with humor. Full of food, passion and engaging stories – please read this cross cultural journey.

Harlot’s Sauce reminds me of pasta puttenesca. The sauce isn’t a specific recipe here, it’s combining good ingredients and making a good meal. It’s also taking the best of what you have on hand and making the most of it…for a recipe, for a life style. But I veered off course on the puttenesca and made a version of Pastitsio in honor of her Greek experiences. Recipe and such may be found at Squirrel Head Manor.

Kalo Taxidi! (Good Voyage!) and Buon Appetito.

More Information:
Patricia Volonnakis Davis’ Website
Patricia’s Opinion Blog

Linking up to Beth Fish Reads Weekend Cooking Series: Weekend Cooking is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post to share: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, quotations, beer, wine, photographs. If your post is even vaguely foodie, feel free to grab the button and link up anytime over the weekend.

16 thoughts on “Harlot’s Sauce: A Memoir of Food, Family, Love, Loss, and Greece by Patricia Volonakis Davis

  1. The book is new to me too — now I want to check it out! The pastitsio looks wonderful. I’m definitely going to make it (with lamb) this fall.

    Like

  2. Lovely post. Thanks so much for sharing how you related to this book through your own experiences growing up. I think it’s something many of us can relate to. Even those of us who grew up in the 70s and 80s. 😉

    Like

  3. Heh, I’m having a Greek cook-a-long with my online group the Kookgrrls this month. Keeping it simple though, planning to make mushrooms á la grecque. Nice post!

    Like

Leave a comment