Written in My Own Heart’s Blood by Diana Gabaldon

gabaldon I looked forward to this book and it certainly didn’t disappoint. Going through the war, “meeting” historical figures Gabaldon inserts into the storyline, the excitement of Roger, Brianna and their two children with the time travel and blackmail; and of course Jamie and Claire’s story.

There was also a good amount of storyline with Fergus and Marsali, Ian and Rachel as well as Jamie’s sister Jenny. If you have read the previous 7 books in this series you will know these characters and be pleased. I will say there is a death that made me sad but I don’t want to put in any spoilers.

William, Jamie’s natural son and John Grey’s adopted son, whined a bit too much for my liking. Ok, ok, we get it! You are astounded to be told you are not Lord John Grey’s natural son but for a soldier, he sulked way too much about that situation. In my opinion of course.

855 pages packed with entertainment. I enjoyed this one very much and can say she left us with a satisfying ending. You will crave more. I can’t wait for the next installment in this series.

There were a few meals mentioned but nothing elaborate. The simplicity of the time period didn’t allow for fast foods or any convenience style helpers. There was a scene captured in the 1980’s describing how Jem liked his blueberry Pop Tarts. Otherwise, you made use of any leftovers or scraps to prepare another meal.

This soup is meal, a hearty one if I may say so, made from leavings of other meals. Leftover chicken, a bit of milk, a few stray carrots and potatoes i the fridge. It was a creamy type soup and perfect to take along for lunch.

Happy Reading!!

4 thoughts on “Written in My Own Heart’s Blood by Diana Gabaldon

  1. I haven’t read any of these books yet! I go back and forth really wanting to read it and being intimidated how massive this series. Glad to hear you enjoyed! That makes me lean more to the wanting to read it!

    Like

Leave a comment