I don’t want to eat rose petals

foodWithFriensThe title had me thinking about food you would share at a party or get together. This wasn’t quite the case, not that you couldn’t share these recipes/ dishes with friends.  It just wasn’t what I thought.

For my taste there are way too many recipes with rose petals as an ingredient.  Lavender is another ingredient that’s not exactly easy to get in my neck of the woods.

As for Kale Slaw, my husband saw that page opened and immediately said, “Nope.”  What is it with kale these days.  It’s the latest in food popularity, I suppose, but my word, I sure hate kale.

The positives of this book is obviously the photography.  All the photos are lovely, well done.  There is a section on how to achieve the perfect photo, how to set it up.  Nice advice there.

Overall, I will pass this book on to the library as there isn’t much I would actually cook from these recipes.  If I were into desserts I may love the book but yeah….not a winner for me.

I received a copy of this book from the Blogging for Books program.  All opinions are my own.  Nice and otherwise.

8 thoughts on “I don’t want to eat rose petals

  1. My sister reviewed this book as well and had the same reaction as you — I’m glad to see we aren’t the only ones who don’t want to serve our friends flower petals and spa water!

    Like

    • I forgot to mention the spa water! I think it was the title that threw me, or caused me to have different expectations, Thanks for the comment, Jessica!

      Like

    • Katherine, I wouldn’t have asked for this book had I known it wouldn’t be for me, well…..obviously! Yeah, this is a pretty book but it’s just not for me. You are supposed to be honest , right?

      Like

Leave a comment