Black Rabbit Hall & The Irish Cottage {meh….}

2E0A52F7-9C7E-4002-8222-51D5E691B285
I am not ashamed to say the title of the book and the photo on the cover is what attracted me. It is pretty cover and the name Black Rabbit Hall is just great. Alas, it was a rather slow moving and mopey bit of Chick Lit, pardon me for describing it that way. There is a difference between women’s fiction and chick lit in my opinion. ( That being said I enjoy a light read now and then but when you are pumped for a good mystery, it’s disappointing.)

The book was compared to that of Kate Morton or Daphne du Maurier. Probably because there is a mystery of sorts as well as an old neglected house. The setting is Cornwall and that greatly appealed to me.

9FE9E12F-389C-4FAF-B5CE-D7616929CBCD

Next up is The Irish Cottage, book one in a series by Juliet Gauvin.   It was a free book on Amazon  so I grabbed it as I love reading stories set in the British Isles. Not nearly enough Ireland and (for me) too much graphic sex. Romantic interludes are fine but the… uh… descriptive encounters were certainly well documented.

I was expecting the Irish setting and characters to be a major part but there isn’t much of that other than a pub dinner and talk of Guinness.

I gave it a gallant effort but ultimately it goes in a DNF pile. There are were just too many books I want to read and I’m not getting any younger so I’m not wasting my time

I just received notice an Ann Patchett novel arrived in my library holds so I will either start that next or turn to an old favorite, The Shell Seekers by Rosamunde Pilcher. Recently I felt ill and ended up having an emergency room visit so my concentration wasn’t keen for awhile.  Depends if I want to drive into Tallahassee for a library run.  We’ll see. Good news is I am feeling better now and want to read.

Hope all is well in your household and you are reading and cooking and enjoying life!

Sharing with Joy for British Isles Friday

brifri

8 thoughts on “Black Rabbit Hall & The Irish Cottage {meh….}

  1. I’m glad you’re feeling better. This is a lousy time to have to go to the emergency room.

    One of the libraries that I frequent is opening up for curbside pick-up on June 3 and I’m more excited than I expected to be! I’ve been reading e-books and listening to e-audio, but there are still some books that I want in print.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Joy, thank you so much for your kind wishes. The ER isn’t a place anyone wants to be for sure but what a time to need to go.

      Our library has started curbside pickup!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Ophelia #FilmReview #BriFri – Joy's Book Blog

Leave a comment