Telling Tales by Ann Cleeves {#2 in the Vera Stanhope Series}

20200623_134702

It is a little while before Detective Vera Stanhope makes an appearance in this police procedural.  Just as the first novel in this series, our cantankerous detective arrives on scene after the basic plot is established.  The story is set in a small town near Hull, England.

It’s years since young Jeanie Long was accused and convicted of murdering fifteen year old Abigal Mantel but the case has now been reopened.  Jeanie commited suicide in prison after being denied parole again.  She had protested her innocence since the beginning and now, someone has stepped up, too late for Jeanie, to provide her with an alibi.

Witnesses from this case are questioned again, bringing hope and frustrations to the family members who lost a loved one.  Then another murder happens and it appears to tie to Abigail’s murder long ago.  There are a few misleading clues and you will be guessing on who the murderer(s) are as there is plenty of motive to go around.

Once again I liked Vera’s character as well as Detective Joe Ashworth.  Emma Bennett was a major character in this book, introduced straight away as she was Abigail’s friend.  I never could like Emma the way she was portrayed.  The other supporting characters were well developed and played their parts well!

This is the third book I have read in this series and plan to continue in order.  I had read the first book for a book club and liked it very much.  This series was on my back burner as I liked the author and I LOVE a series.  Then, much to my delight, NetGalley offered me the most recent book (#9) as an ARC so I’d not gotten a chance to get these read in order.  Steady on.

Sharing with Joy for British Isles Friday

brifri

8 thoughts on “Telling Tales by Ann Cleeves {#2 in the Vera Stanhope Series}

    • Joy, I added the next book as well. Our libray has items in quarentine when they are returned so the process isn’t as fast. Safer though so I can wait. I am looking forward to catching up on this series before the end of the year.

      Like

  1. Pingback: Banbury and Sulgrave #VirtualTravel #BriFri – Joy's Book Blog

Leave a comment