Top Ten Tuesday: Book events and festivals

20200630_105503

The theme hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl is about book events and festivals you’d like to attend someday.  It can be real or fictional.

The book festival in Edinburgh.  Last year I read about it and thought it sounded like a great event; check it out HERE. They set up a specialty created tent village filled with books.  Last year there were over 900 authors present. This August 15-31 the festival will be online. I would love to attend this in person and enjoy the sights, food and weather. This is a real event but a fantasy trip as we can’t travel overseas right now.  For us it’s the virus precautions as well as having an elderly dog.  If Aja can’t go, we don’t go.

478BBD60-CA03-4623-A4E9-279F4AD10001

The Sydney Writers Festival which was in June featured Chris Hammer, an author I like who wrote Scrublands. The locale and authors would interest me very much.

20200716_150429

A fantasy book event I would enjoy would feature authors I love, their latest books available for purchase, a question answer event and lots of local food.  We have to see and hear from Jane Harper, Kate Morton, Chris Hammer, Tana French, J.K. Rowling, Ann Cleeves and I’m sure my fried brain can think of more but not this second!

Since this event doesn’t exist and I can’t travel it would be hosted in a place I would love to visit one day.  Wales, Brisbane, Melbourne or Newcastle (so I could visit Ft MacQuarie) Australia, anyplace in New Zealand, Cumbria county England …..

Fantasy: Another bookish event would be on where my favorite chefs feature, giving talks about their cooking and maybe food preps and demonstrations.  Obviously  their cookbooks would be on sale. I’d love to see Nigel Slater, Curtis Stone, Nigella Lawson,  Mary Berry, Jamie Oliver, Jacques Pépin and Julia Child. Just to name a few.

I don’t have ten this week but these are a few I like.  Where would you like to visit and which authors or books are in your lineup?

26 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Book events and festivals

  1. Yes. OK. I want to add Nigella to my imagined foodie author dinner party! Great list, Tina. This was a good virtual event that lets us dream about travel one day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wonder if we will ever get back to that “normal” one day. My passport expired but I didn’t feel the need to get it renewed right now. Yes, we can bring Nigella to your dinner party!

      Like

    • Lectrice, I have been to a cooking event where the fod sampples were passed around and books sold but it wasn’t celebrityt type chefs. That was fun!

      Like

  2. I love festivals and book events! I don’t like going anywhere without my dog either! If I do, I either leave them with my kids or a friend who is also is also her groomer who she loves.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment