Bouchon Bakery by Thomas Keller

Bouchon Bakery by Thomas Keller will grab your attention with marvelous recipes, personal stories and impressive photos. A gorgeous book of sugary dreams, delectable breads and background stories which inspire your creative side.

I like the beginning chapters , filled with stories about the pastry chefs and staff. Sebastian Rouxel is a favorite – he tells of receiving a vice mail from Thomas Keller (back in 1997) stating he’d received his resume and would like to meet with him. Surprising, as Sebastian had not sent Keller his resume. Sebastian’s wife Andrea fessed up and confessed she did it. Clever woman.

There are assorted recipes for cookies, breads, macaroons, muffins, cakes, doughnuts……oops…is that drool on my keyboard? Probably.

All recipes list the ingredients by both weight and volume. Me, I use measuring cups and spoons….as I will wager many of you do when cooking and baking. But there is a chapter explaining why scales are the better way to proceed. It’s a hard habit to break, using measuring cups and spoons, but I certainly see the wisdom of what they are saying.

I am hoping to make many of the recipes in this well designed, brilliantly photographed labor of love by Thomas Keller and associates. Look at him…..he just looks like a nice guy. Everything I read about him confirms it. I’ve never had a boss that looked like this…just sayin…

Pumpkin Muffins – (These were easy to make)

Thomas Keller, author of The French Laundry Cookbook, Bouchon, Under Pressure, and Ad Hoc at Home has been honored with innumerable awards, from an honorary doctorate to outstanding restaurateur to chef of the year (for successive years). His two Michelin Guide three-star-rated restaurants, French Laundry and Per Se, continue to vie for best restaurant in America and for ranking among the top five eateries in the world. Ad Hoc, his casual family-style restaurant, opened in 2006

Adding my review to Goodreads and Beth Fish Reads.

Happy reading and baking, my friends!

20 thoughts on “Bouchon Bakery by Thomas Keller

  1. I have his French Laundry book (tho I’ve never cooked out of it). This looks a wonderful book. I often use the scale instead of measuring when I’m baking bread, but I still use measuring cups too.

    Like

  2. I have one of his cookbooks but haven’t attempted anything yet. I ate at Bouchon once and it was like a miracle on a plate – one of the most amazing meals I’ve ever had. I’ll have to give the baking cookbook a try. I own a kitchen scale but have never used it. If anyone can convince me to use it, it’s Thomas Keller.

    Like

  3. Ahhhh the scale. I’ve actually asked for a scale for Christmas just so I can see what all the fuss is about. I do use measuring spoons/cups but willing to try something new. This cookbook just looks too good to pass up!

    Like

  4. I have seen this cookbook around and fell in love on first sight with the cover. If the photos inside are all like the cover.. I will never want to close this one! I’m going to flip through it the next time I’m in B&N .. and maybe even buy it. ha! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment