Book Challenges – Old and New

Earlier in the year I signed up for a reading challenge with the French theme. Evidently, it slipped my mind and I completed only three books for the 2013 linkup. How do I know that? I received a reminder from Words and Peace to add my links……….

books-on-france3

Here they are:

How To Cook a Wolf by M.F.K. Fisher
French Toast by Harriet
A Good Year by Peter Mayle

For 2014 I have signed on with Book’d Out for an Eclectic Challenge.

bookdout_squarebadge

Here is the list below in (parenthesis) are books I made plans to read. Book selection is subject to change…depending on availability and my mood.

Categories

Award Winning (Atonement, Ian McEwen)
True Crime (Non Fiction) (Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil, John Berendt)
Romantic Comedy (Bridget Jones Diary, Helen Fielding)
Alternate History Fiction ??
Graphic Novel ??
Cosy Mystery Fiction (Inspector Banks books, any by Peter Robinson)
Gothic Fiction (Rebecca, Daphne du Maurier)
War/Military Fiction (Catch-22)
Anthology ??
Medical Thriller Fiction (Postmortem, Patricia Cornwell) ??
Travel (Non Fiction) (Notes from a Small Island, Bill Bryson)
Published in 2014

So far I don’t know what books to look for on alternate history or graphic novels. The 2014 book will most likely be Diana Gabaldon’s final book in the Outlander series. Or if George Martin ever picks up a pen again I would love to read more of the Fire and Ice series. C’mon George….not getting any younger here.

Upcoming review on Dance with Dragons…….

8 thoughts on “Book Challenges – Old and New

  1. I was worried about forgetting my challenges as the year progressed. So I’ve made my own 2014 badge and stuck it at the top of my sidebar so that I see it every time I log in and I also have an easy quick way to find my master post.

    Good luck this year 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: 2014 Book Challenges (Updated) | Novel Meals

Leave a comment