Big Flavor with SkinnyTaste Cookbook

1SKINNY I guess I am one of the few people who had not heard of the Skinnytaste website. Looking over this new cookbook I see I’ve been missing out on a number of good recipes.

{Bookmarking Gina’s website now.}

Beautiful book – I am loving the gorgeous photos and easy to follow directions. Look at the cover – those mouth-watering shrimp and grits. I know I will be trying that out soon.

The division of recipes is similar to most cookbooks. Breakfast meals, soups and stews, sandwiches, dips and appies, main salads, meat, fish and vegetarian fare and let’s not forget dessert!

Some recipes require a bit of prep but overall they look like a breeze to make. If you like heathy fare you won’t be disappointed in this book. You don’t give up good flavor and lovely presentations just to eat a healthy meal.

There are labels for the recipes indicating which are gluten-free, quick, vegetarian , etc. Super helpful.

There are so many I have tagged to make and want to share with you but I had to share the easiest dessert ever. It’s a take on Bananas Foster and soooo easy.

Santa Fe Chicken in the slow cooker is coming up next. I will just update my review and add the photos once that dish is done.

Ok, Baked Bananas Foster.

Heat your oven to 400 F. Cut a banana or two in half lengthwise OR slice 2 bananas into rounds. Sprinkle bananas with ½ teaspoon cinnamon 1 1/12 TB light brown sugar and a teaspoon of vanilla.

Place in foil and seal, bake for 10 or 15 minutes. Add a small scoop of frozen vanilla yogurt and you’ll experience a fabulous taste combo.

I used honey instead of brown sugar and probably too much cinnamon. Nah, you can’t have too much cinnamon!

More on this author:
Buy the book!
Author bio
Gina’s website Skinnytaste

*I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review. All opinions, nice and no-so-nice are my own 🙂

One thought on “Big Flavor with SkinnyTaste Cookbook

  1. I definitely agree that there’s no such thing as too much cinnamon (except in peanut butter cookies. I’m not sold on that flavor combo). I follow Gina’s website and have liked the things I’ve tried and have been thinking of picking this one up as well. Glad to hear you enjoyed it! I’ll definitely be looking for this one!

    Like

Leave a comment