NPH – Trying to be funny, it falls short

NPH Neil Patrick Harris has been entertaining us on screen since he starred as Doogie Howser. He’s a funny guy so when I saw this book I was intrigued. After reading a bit and jumping to a few of his fictional alternative futures I found myself bored. It’s not a memoir or autobiography.

It would behoove anyone considering purchasing this book to explore the local library instead of putting out money for this one. If you’re a fan of this style then it might be for you. It just wasn’t my cup of tea, as the saying goes.

It’s meant to be funny but after a while the technique wore thin and I found it less and less amusing. Yes, I get it’s a “choose your adventure” sort of book but I found the fictional accounting of an abusive childhood with a drug addict mother very crass.

He writes well, but the book does jump around (probably intentionally) and that makes it hard to read. If you want to know more about NPH this isn’t the book you should purchase. Trying to be funny it falls short.

It does include drink recipes.

*I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review. All opinions, nice and no-so-nice are my own 🙂

2 thoughts on “NPH – Trying to be funny, it falls short

  1. I enjoyed this one but I think it was partly because I love NPH and partly for the nostalgia factor of the Choose Your Own type. It definitely doesn’t qualify as a memoir or an autobiography though. I’m sorry this one disappointed you. I guess we have to come across the occasional let down book so that the good ones really stand out!

    Like

Leave a comment