2017 Monthly Motif Challenge hosted at Girlxoxo

It’s that time of year again when I start thinking about book challenges and planning on books I definitely want to read this new year.  For the last several years I have signed up for the British Book Challenge (I wrote about that HERE ) and this year I am adding a new challenge.  The 2017 Monthly Motif Challenge.

2017-reading-challenge-sign-ups-1

If you haven’t checked out Girlxoxo you may want to drop by.  While I had fallen in love with this site and the life hacks, the book reviews and organizational tips….for some reason I had not commented in a good long while.

Do you ever read a blog or site on a regular basis but don’t comment?  Fellow book bloggers can use the support and a friendly comment now and again.  I need to be better about that next year.  Connecting to those I enjoy and stop being such a hermit.

girlsofgirlxoxo

Anyway………..this Monthly Motif Challenge interests me very much because it will indeed challenge me read outside of my typical genre.  I already have some loose plans for the books I’d like to read for several months’ themes.

To give you a preview, here is a shameless copy and paste job of the themes (books read and posted about are added along with the links for the review).

JANUARY – Diversify Your Reading
Kick the reading year off right and shake things up. Read a book with a character (or written by an author) of a race, religion, or sexual orientation other than your own.

Stir: My Broken Brain and the Meals that Brought Me Home by Jessica Fechtor

FEBRUARY – Undercover Thriller
Read a book involving spies, detectives, private investigators, or a character in disguise. Watching the Dark by Peter Robinson

MARCH – Time Traveler
Read a book set in a different dimension, a book in which time travel is involved or a dystopian or science fiction book where reality looks very different than what we’re used to. 11/23/63 by Stephen King

APRIL – Award Winners
Read a book that has won a literary award or a book written by an author who has been recognized in the bookish community.  And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

MAY – Book to Movie or Audio
Read a book that has a movie based off of it. For an extra challenge, see the movie or listen to the audio book as well.  The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

JUNE – Destination Unknown
Read a book in which the character(s) take a trip, travel somewhere, go on a quest, or find themselves on a journey toward something.

JULY – Believe the Unbelievable
This month it’s all about fantasy. Epic fantasy, urban fantasy, fairy tales, magic, etc.

AUGUST – Seasons, Elements, & Weather
Read a book in which the season, the elements, or the weather plays a role in the story.

SEPTEMBER – Creepy, Chilling, & Frightful
Cozy mystery ghost stories, paranormal hauntings, murder mysteries, weird and scary creatures- it’s up to you!

OCTOBER– Games, Challenges, & Contests
Read a book that involves a game of some sort. Video games, war games, psychological mess-with-your-mind games, characters who participate in a contest, or a story in which the character takes on a challenge.

NOVEMBER – Last Chance
Read a book you’ve been meaning to get to all year but haven’t yet or read the last book in a series you started.

DECEMBER – Picking Favorites
Read a book by one of your favorite authors or read a book that Girlxoxo has recommended this year.

So there it is, folks.  I am jumping on this challenge and hope I learn something new.  Join in, it looks like fun!

2017-reading-challenge-sign-ups-1

3 thoughts on “2017 Monthly Motif Challenge hosted at Girlxoxo

  1. I had my challenge posts saved as a drafts, then had too many so I deleted a few including this one. Then I still went over my limit of 5. I’m still trying not to join any more, but ones like this keep pulling at me since like you said, it will draw me out of my comfort genres. It’s a toss up to whether I’ll stand firm or cave. Either way, I hope you enjoy it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I totally get you on joining too many. I love the British authors so that was definitely going to be one I joined. This one appeals to me too but I am trying not to join any others. I need to be realistic about how many books I can read!

    Like

Leave a comment